Advertise Now
Europe Attractions
Travel Companies
  Home > Travel Europe > Europe Destinations > Beja


Europe is one of the five inhabited traditional continents of the Earth. Physically and geologically, Europe is the westernmost peninsula of Eurasia, west of Asia. Europe is bounded to the north by the Arctic Ocean, to the west by the Atlantic Ocean, to the south by the Mediterranean Sea, and to the southeast by the waterways adjoining the Mediterranean to and including the Black Sea and the Caucasus Mountains. On the east, Europe is divided from Asia by the water divide of the Ural Mountains and by the Caspian Sea. Europe is the world's second-smallest continent in terms of area and third-largest continent after Asia and Africa in population.
Beja is a municipality in Portugal with a total area of 1,147.1 square kilometers and a total population of 34,970 inhabitants and Density 31 kilometers. The municipality is composed of 18 parishes, and is located in the district of Beja. The History of Beja Pax-Julia was its Latin name under Roman Empire rule, capital of the southernmost province of Lusitania. After the barbarian invasions, it became a Visigoth city and bishopry now with the name of Paca. In the beginning of the 8th century, it fell into Muslim rule, renamed Beja. Successive attempts of conquest and reconquest for the Christian kings gradually reduced it into rubble, falling definitively in Portuguese hands from 1234.
Today, one can also learn about its history, from its earliest times and gain enthusiasm in its natural beauty and populace. Beja enjoys a very positive reputation with worldwide travelers.

Everything you need to know about Traveling Europe is here at

Permission is granted to reproduce this article as long as the above resource paragraph is left intact with active links.

Back to Europe Destinations

Europe Destinations
Europe News