Advertise Now
Europe Attractions
Travel Companies
  Home > Travel Europe > Europe Destinations > Lefkasio


Europe is one of the five inhabited traditional continents of the Earth. Physically and geologically, Europe is the westernmost peninsula of Eurasia, west of Asia. Europe is bounded to the north by the Arctic Ocean, to the west by the Atlantic Ocean, to the south by the Mediterranean Sea, and to the southeast by the waterways adjoining the Mediterranean to and including the Black Sea and the Caucasus Mountains. On the east, Europe is divided from Asia by the water divide of the Ural Mountains and by the Caspian Sea. Europe is the world's second-smallest continent in terms of area and third-largest continent after Asia and Africa in population.
Lefkasio is a municipality in the south-eastern part of the Achaea prefecture, Greece. Its seat of administartion is the village Kleitoria, also Klitoria historically a part of Arcadia, near the site of the ancient village of Kleitor. Kleitoria is divided into Ano Kleitoria and Kato Kleitoria. Nestani since the 1980s is linked with the Kalavryta-Pagkrati Road linking with GR-33 and Kalamata as well as the Cave Lakes. The mountains with rocks, grasslands and some forests surround Kleitoria and is situated in a valley. Farmlands are mainly in valley areas. It had a population of 3,892 inhabitants in 2001. Kleitoria has a school, a lyceum, a church, a post office, banks and a small square or plateia.
Greece lies at the juncture of Europe, Asia, and Africa. It is heir to the heritages of classical Greece, the Byzantine Empire, and nearly four centuries of Ottoman rule. Regarded as the cradle of western civilization and being the birthplace of democracy, Western philosophy, the Olympic Games, western literature, political science, major scientific principles, and drama including both tragedy and comedy, Greece has a particularly long and eventful history and a cultural heritage considerably influential in Europe, Northern Africa and the Middle East. Today, Greece is a developed country, member of the European Union since 1981 and a member of the Economic and Monetary Union of the European Union since 2001.

As everyone is welcome to the 34 remarkably diverse and exciting countries of the European Travel Commission, where you will open the door to all the treasures Europe has to offer, and eliminate the boundaries between you and the never-ending journey that is Europe, enjoy the experience.

Everything you need to know about Traveling Europe is here at

Permission is granted to reproduce this article as long as the above resource paragraph is left intact with active links.

Back to Europe Destinations

Europe Destinations
Europe News