Advertise Now
Europe Attractions
Travel Companies
  Home > Travel Europe > Europe Destinations > Leiria


Europe is one of the five inhabited traditional continents of the Earth. Physically and geologically, Europe is the westernmost peninsula of Eurasia, west of Asia. Europe is bounded to the north by the Arctic Ocean, to the west by the Atlantic Ocean, to the south by the Mediterranean Sea, and to the southeast by the waterways adjoining the Mediterranean to and including the Black Sea and the Caucasus Mountains. On the east, Europe is divided from Asia by the water divide of the Ural Mountains and by the Caspian Sea. Europe is the world's second-smallest continent in terms of area and third-largest continent after Asia and Africa in population.

Leiria is a city in central Portugal. It is the capital of the District of Leiria. It had a population of 119,870 inhabitants in 2001 living within an area of 564.66 square kilometers giving a population density of 210 inhabitants per square kilometer. The Turduli, an indigenous people from Iberia, established a settlement near present-day Leiria. This settlement was later occupied by the Romans, who expanded it under the name Collippo. The stones of the ancient Roman town were used in the middle Ages to build much of Leiria. Leiria, located halfway between Lisbon and Porto, is 146 kilometers away from Lisbon and 72 kilometers away from Coimbra. The historic city centre spreads between the castle hill and the river Lis. Leiria hosts a regional public polytechnic institution of higher education, the Instituto Politécnico de Leiria. Leiria is close to the Atlantic Ocean, therefore Spring and Summer months are usually sunny and the temperatures very high during July and August. Leiria is connected to its suburbs and the rest of Portugal by a motorway network. There are two motorways paasing the city; the A1 and the A8.
Portugal, officially the Portuguese Republic, located in southwestern Europe on the Iberian Peninsula, is the westernmost country of mainland Europe. Portugal is bordered by Spain to the north and east and by the Atlantic Ocean to the west and south. The Atlantic archipelagos of the Azores and Madeira are also part of Portugal.

As everyone is welcome to the 34 remarkably diverse and exciting countries of the European Travel Commission, where you will open the door to all the treasures Europe has to offer, and eliminate the boundaries between you and the never-ending journey that is Europe, enjoy the experience.

Everything you need to know about Traveling Europe is here at

Permission is granted to reproduce this article as long as the above resource paragraph is left intact with active links.

Back to Europe Destinations

Europe Destinations
Europe News