Advertise Now
Europe Attractions
Travel Companies
  Home > Travel Europe > Europe Destinations > Lentas


Europe is one of the five inhabited traditional continents of the Earth. Physically and geologically, Europe is the westernmost peninsula of Eurasia, west of Asia. Europe is bounded to the north by the Arctic Ocean, to the west by the Atlantic Ocean, to the south by the Mediterranean Sea, and to the southeast by the waterways adjoining the Mediterranean to and including the Black Sea and the Caucasus Mountains. On the east, Europe is divided from Asia by the water divide of the Ural Mountains and by the Caspian Sea. Europe is the world's second-smallest continent in terms of area and third-largest continent after Asia and Africa in population.

Lentas or Levin is a coastal village 75 kilometers south of Heraklion, on the south coast of Crete. It belongs to the municipality of Agii Deka. Its name refers to the lion shaped cape that makes the small protected bay of Lentas. This cape is documented in medieval maps as Cape Liontas Lentas has a rich past and there are evidence that it had been first habitated from the Neolithic and Early Minoan period of the 3rd millennium B.C., Before Christ. Lentas is also known to be one of the two harbours of Gortys, which became the most prominent city of Crete after the fall of Knossos. In the late Classical period, beginning of the 4th century B.C., the Gortynians established the sanctuary of Asklepios at the harbour. Gortys later was the Province's capital during the Roman era, which also comprised Cyrnaica, ancient Libya. In the Early Christian and Byzantine periods, a small settlement developed and a basilica of St. John was built in the 14th century. In recent years, investigations of the Greek Archaeological Service brought to light the Minoan settlement and graves.
Crete is the largest of the Greek islands and the fifth largest in the Mediterranean Sea. Greece lies at the juncture of Europe, Asia, and Africa. It is a developed country, member of the European Union since 1981 and a member of the Economic and Monetary Union of the European Union since 2001.

As everyone is welcome to the 34 remarkably diverse and exciting countries of the European Travel Commission, where you will open the door to all the treasures Europe has to offer, and eliminate the boundaries between you and the never-ending journey that is Europe, enjoy the experience.

Everything you need to know about Traveling Europe is here at

Permission is granted to reproduce this article as long as the above resource paragraph is left intact with active links.

Back to Europe Destinations

Europe Destinations
Europe News