Advertise Now
Europe Attractions
Travel Companies
  Home > Travel Europe > Europe Destinations > Skiathos


Europe is one of the five inhabited traditional continents of the Earth. Physically and geologically, Europe is the westernmost peninsula of Eurasia, west of Asia. Europe is bounded to the north by the Arctic Ocean, to the west by the Atlantic Ocean, to the south by the Mediterranean Sea, and to the southeast by the waterways adjoining the Mediterranean to and including the Black Sea and the Caucasus Mountains. On the east, Europe is divided from Asia by the water divide of the Ural Mountains and by the Caspian Sea. Europe is the world's second-smallest continent in terms of area and third-largest continent after Asia and Africa in population.

Skiathos is a city and a small island in the Aegean Sea belonging to Greece. It is next to Skopelos, consisting of one main town Skiathos Town and the settlements being Koukounaries, Kanapitsa, Vromolimnos and Troullos. Skiathos is the westernmost island in the Sporades group of islands. The mainland Greece along with Magnesia is to the west. The name of the island dates back to ancient times. In 2001, it had a population of 6,160 inhabitants living within an area of 49.9 square kilometers giving a population density of 123 inhabitants per square kilometer.
Skiathos town has a school, a lyceum, a gymnasium, many churches, banks, a post office, and a square or plateia. The island of Skiathos has 70 beaches all around it. It is also has a port where small boats are found and has ferry services to Skopelos and Volos and Agios Konstantinos with the rest of Greece. It is aligned within the city. During the 19th century Skiathos became an important shipbuilding center in the Aegean due to the abundance of pine forests on the island. The island of Skopelos can be seen from Skiathos with the more distant islands of Euboea and Scyros also visible in clearer conditions.
Greece lies at the juncture of Europe, Asia, and Africa. Today, Greece is a developed country, member of the European Union since 1981 and a member of the Economic and Monetary Union of the European Union since 2001.

As everyone is welcome to the 34 remarkably diverse and exciting countries of the European Travel Commission, where you will open the door to all the treasures Europe has to offer, and eliminate the boundaries between you and the never-ending journey that is Europe, enjoy the experience.

Everything you need to know about Traveling Europe is here at

Permission is granted to reproduce this article as long as the above resource paragraph is left intact with active links.

Back to Europe Destinations

Europe Destinations
Europe News