Advertise Now
Europe Attractions
Travel Companies
  Home > Travel Europe > Europe Destinations > Zwettl


Europe is one of the five inhabited traditional continents of the Earth. Physically and geologically, Europe is the westernmost peninsula of Eurasia, west of Asia. Europe is bounded to the north by the Arctic Ocean, to the west by the Atlantic Ocean, to the south by the Mediterranean Sea, and to the southeast by the waterways adjoining the Mediterranean to and including the Black Sea and the Caucasus Mountains. On the east, Europe is divided from Asia by the water divide of the Ural Mountains and by the Caspian Sea. Europe is the world's second-smallest continent in terms of area and third-largest continent after Asia and Africa in population.

Zwettl is a town and district capital in Lower Austria. It has an area of 256 square kilometers and after Vienna and Wolfsberg in Carinthia, is the third largest municipality in Austria by area. It is chiefly known as the location of Zwettl Abbey.

Lower Austria is one of the nine states or Bundesländer in Austria. The capital of Lower Austria is Sankt Polten the most recent capital town in Austria. It was Vienna before, even Vienna is not part of proper Lower Austria.

Zwettl is also known as the town of best geographical environment and has traced its origins back to prehistoric times. Today, one can also learn about its history, from its earliest times and can also enjoy its natural beauty concealed by the beautiful landscapes.

Everything you need to know about Traveling Europe is here at

Permission is granted to reproduce this article as long as the above resource paragraph is left intact with active links.

Back to Europe Destinations

Europe Destinations
Europe News