Advertise Now
Europe Attractions
Travel Companies
  Home > Travel Europe > Europe Destinations > Canary Islands

Canary Islands

The Canary Islands is an Atlantic North African archipelago that forms one of the autonomous communities of Spain. The archipelago is composed of seven islands: Tenerife, La Gomera, La Palma, and El Hierro, which form the province of Santa Cruz de Tenerife, and Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura, and Lanzarote that form the Las Palmas, also, the six small rocky islands called Alegranza, Graciosa, Montaña Clara, Lobos, Roque del Este and Roque del Oeste.

The paradisiacal islands of sun and beaches of fine sand benefit from a spring weather during the whole year. Each island is different in diameter from the others and their landscapes evoke corners of all regions of the world.

The Lucky Islands, the Elysian Fields, the Garden of the Hesperides, and the Atlantis were the first denominations found in the Greek and Roman writings about the Canary Islands. They were referring to an archipelago of volcanic origin inhabited by “guanche”, a very tall race of light skin that lived in cliffs, grottos, or small thorps. In 1496, the islands were incorporated into the crown of Castilla, after a series of combats, in which the courage and nobility of the guanche prevailed. In those times, precisely, the ships of Columbus called at the Gran Canaria and Gomera before leaving for the New World.

Everything you need to know about Traveling Europe is here at

Permission is granted to reproduce this article as long as the above resource paragraph is left intact with active links.

Back to Europe Destinations

Europe Destinations
Europe News