Advertise Now
Europe Attractions
Travel Companies
  Home > Travel Europe > Europe Destinations > Diakopto


Europe is one of the five inhabited traditional continents of the Earth. Physically and geologically, Europe is the westernmost peninsula of Eurasia, west of Asia. Europe is bounded to the north by the Arctic Ocean, to the west by the Atlantic Ocean, to the south by the Mediterranean Sea, and to the southeast by the waterways adjoining the Mediterranean to and including the Black Sea and the Caucasus Mountains. On the east, Europe is divided from Asia by the water divide of the Ural Mountains and by the Caspian Sea. Europe is the world's second-smallest continent in terms of area and third-largest continent after Asia and Africa in population.
Diakopto is a municipality in Achaea, Greece. It had a population of approximately 7000 residents in 2001. The town of Diakopto is situated at the Gulf of Korinthos and the lower end of the Vouraikos-Gorge. A 75centimeter rack-railway of 1885 leads up to the Town of Kalavryta passing halfway the Mega-Spileon Monastery. The municipality of Diakopto can be found exactly in the north-west Peloponnese bordering from the East with the municipality of Akrata, from the West with the municipality of Aegean and from the South with the pick of Kalavryta.
Achaea is an ancient province and a present prefecture of Greece, on the northern coast of the Peloponnese, stretching from the mountain ranges of Erymanthus and Cyllene on the south to a narrow strip of fertile land on the north, bordering the Gulf of Corinth, into which the mountain Panachaicus at 1,902 meters, the northernmost mountain range in the Peloponnese, projects. Achaea is bounded on the west by the territory of Elis, on the east by that of Sicyon, which, however, was sometimes included in it.
Greece officially the Hellenic Republic is a country in south-eastern Europe, situated on the southern end of the Balkan peninsula. It is bordered by Bulgaria, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Albania to the north and by Turkey to the east. The Aegean Sea lies to the east of mainland Greece, while the Ionian Sea lies to the west.

As everyone is welcome to the 34 remarkably diverse and exciting countries of the European Travel Commission, where you will open the door to all the treasures Europe has to offer, and eliminate the boundaries between you and the never-ending journey that is Europe, enjoy the experience.

Everything you need to know about Traveling Europe is here at

Permission is granted to reproduce this article as long as the above resource paragraph is left intact with active links.

Back to Europe Destinations

Europe Destinations
Europe News