Advertise Now
Europe Attractions
Travel Companies
  Home > Travel Europe > Europe Destinations > Skyros


Europe is one of the five inhabited traditional continents of the Earth. Physically and geologically, Europe is the westernmost peninsula of Eurasia, west of Asia. Europe is bounded to the north by the Arctic Ocean, to the west by the Atlantic Ocean, to the south by the Mediterranean Sea, and to the southeast by the waterways adjoining the Mediterranean to and including the Black Sea and the Caucasus Mountains. On the east, Europe is divided from Asia by the water divide of the Ural Mountains and by the Caspian Sea. Europe is the world's second-smallest continent in terms of area and third-largest continent after Asia and Africa in population.
Skyros is the southernmost island of the Sporades, a Greek archipelago in the Aegean Sea. Around the 2nd millennium BC, Before Christ, and slightly later, the island was known as The Island of the Magnetes where the Magnetes used to live and later Pelasgia and Dolopia and later Skyros. At 209 square kilometers, it is the largest of the Sporades, and had a population of about 3,000 inhabitants in 2003. Skyros is one of the municipalities that are not part of any provinces in Greece.
The north of the island is covered by forest, and includes the island's highest point, Mount Olympus at 903 metres, while the south, dominated by the mountain of Kochila, is bare and rocky. The island's capital is also called Skyros or, locally, Chora. The main port, on the west coast, is Linaria. The island has a castle or the kastro that dates from the Venetian occupation from the 13th to the 15th centuries, a Byzantine monastery, the Monastery of Saint George and the Bronze Age archaeological site of Palamari. There are many beaches on the coast. The island has its own breed of Skyrian ponies. Skyros can be reached by ferry from Skiathos or Evia.
Greece is a country in south-eastern Europe, situated on the southern end of the Balkan Peninsula. It lies at the juncture of Europe, Asia, and Africa. Today, Greece is a developed country, member of the European and European Economic and Monetary Unions.

As everyone is welcome to the 34 remarkably diverse and exciting countries of the European Travel Commission, where you will open the door to all the treasures Europe has to offer, and eliminate the boundaries between you and the never-ending journey that is Europe, enjoy the experience.

Everything you need to know about Traveling Europe is here at

Permission is granted to reproduce this article as long as the above resource paragraph is left intact with active links.

Back to Europe Destinations

Europe Destinations
Europe News