Advertise Now
Europe Attractions
Travel Companies
  Home > Travel Europe > Europe Destinations > Sluis


Europe is one of the five inhabited traditional continents of the Earth. Physically and geologically, Europe is the westernmost peninsula of Eurasia, west of Asia. Europe is bounded to the north by the Arctic Ocean, to the west by the Atlantic Ocean, to the south by the Mediterranean Sea, and to the southeast by the waterways adjoining the Mediterranean to and including the Black Sea and the Caucasus Mountains. On the east, Europe is divided from Asia by the water divide of the Ural Mountains and by the Caspian Sea. Europe is the world's second-smallest continent in terms of area and third-largest continent after Asia and Africa in population.
Sluis is the name of both a municipality and a town located in the west of Zeeuws-Vlaanderen, in the south-western part of the Netherlands. The municipality was created on the 1st of January 2003, by the merger of the former municipalities of Oostburg and Sluis-Aardenburg. A ferry connection across the Westerschelde exists between Breskens and Vlissingen. After the opening of the Westerschelde tunnel near Terneuzen in 2003, the ferry now carries only pedestrian and bicycle traffic. The town of Sluis is located on the westernmost point of the Netherlands. The town received city rights in 1290. In 1340 the Battle of Sluys was fought nearby at sea. The population of the city was of 2,040 inhabitants, as of 2001. Zeeuws-Vlaanderen is the part of the Netherlands on the south shore of the Western Scheldt, originally a distributary of the river Scheldt. It is in the south-west of the country and part of the province of Zeeland. The Ghent-Terneuzen Canal passes through Zeeuws-Vlaanderen.
The Netherlands is the European part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, which consists of the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles, and Aruba. The Netherlands is a constitutional monarchy, located in northwestern Europe. It is bordered by the North Sea to the north and west, Belgium to the south, and Germany to the east. The current borders were established in 1839. The Netherlands is often referred to by the name Holland.

As everyone is welcome to the 34 remarkably diverse and exciting countries of the European Travel Commission, where you will open the door to all the treasures Europe has to offer, and eliminate the boundaries between you and the never-ending journey that is Europe, enjoy the experience.

Everything you need to know about Traveling Europe is here at

Permission is granted to reproduce this article as long as the above resource paragraph is left intact with active links.

Back to Europe Destinations

Europe Destinations
Europe News