Advertise Now
Europe Attractions
Travel Companies
  Home > Travel Europe > Europe Destinations > Vatican City

Vatican City

Located inside the city of Rome, near the Tibet River, it comprises the Saint Peter’s Basilica and Piazza San Pedro, the palaces and gardens of the actual Vatican, the church and the palace of Saint John of Letran, the papal “village” of Castel Gandolfo and the 13 buildings outside the borders that benefit from the privilege of extraterritoriality.

Only those who are members of the church and that must stay there because of their functions have the Vatican citizenship. Most of the regular officials in the Vatican City are Italian, a considerable number are Swiss, and the rest are natives of different countries. The official languages of the country are Italian and Latin.

The official name of the country is “Stato della Cittá del Vaticano”, and it has two parallel administrations: the Holy See (supreme organ of the Catholic Church) and the Vatican City (seat of the Church). Its capital is the Vatican City, and its government is a non-hereditary elective monarchy. The State of the Vatican City has an area of 0,44 square kilometers and a population of less than 1,000 inhabitants, which makes it the smallest and least populated sovereign State in the world.

Everything you need to know about Traveling Europe is here at

Permission is granted to reproduce this article as long as the above resource paragraph is left intact with active links.

Back to Europe Destinations

Europe Destinations
Europe News